top of page

Weekly Email 29: “You look like an Italian movie star”

Bonjour!

So when I first got here a ward member told me that I looked like an Italian movie star, and now he’s telling me I look like some actress called Claudia Cardinale. I literally have no idea who that is but I’ll take it! I told him my name was Claudia and he jokingly said I must be named after her then. Once we were teaching an ami a few weeks ago and she said “I feel like I’ve seen you before on T.V.”, and my companion said “Yeah I thought that too when I first saw you! You look like someone on a telenovela”. Ok then hahaha

Other funny moments:

  • I am literally always sweating to death but Soeur Maitere never is, and I tell her it’s so hot and she’s like really? But she’s the one who gets cold when the temperature drops 5 degrees.

  • For those that don’t know I have an obsession with pugs, especially Doug the Pug. Once we were at a faatamaaraa and a ward member was on Facebook so I told him to look up Doug the Pug videos. There was a video of Ed Sheeran holding Doug and I was like “oh my gosh I want to meet him so bad someday”. The ward member was like “yeah meeting Ed Sheeran would be so cool!”, and I said “Forget Ed Sheeran, I was talking about Doug the Pug!”

This week we had a movie night and showed the movie Courageous. It is such a good movie!! It talks a lot about families and the roles of fathers. There are some wonderful dads in that movie, it’s awesome to see! Me and Soeur Maitere kept saying “Now that’s a real man!”. It talks also about integrity and faith, which I loved. At the end when we turned the lights on we saw a lot of the people in the audience were crying! It’s a powerful movie. I know that when families are founded on the principles shown in that movie, and on this Gospel, that our homes will be happy and full of love, no matter what happens.

One thing I loved that one of the dads in the movie tells his daughter is, “You need to find someone who loves the Lord more than you. If a man loves and respects God then he will love and respect you”. TRUTH. One of me and Soeur Maitere’s favorite people in the Book of Mormon is Captain Moroni. We just love this description of him found in Alma 48:11-13, 17:

“And Moroni was a strong and a mighty man; he was a man of a perfect understanding; yea, a man that did not delight in bloodshed; a man whose soul did joy in the liberty and freedom of his country…a man whose heart did swell with thanksgiving to his God, for the many privileges and blessings which he bestowed upon his people; a man who did labor exceedingly for the welfare and safety of his people. Yea, and he was a man who was firm in the faith of Christ, and he had sworn an oath to defend his people, his rights, and his country, and his religion, even to the loss of his blood.

Yeah verily, verily, I saw unto you, if all men had been, and were, and ever would be, like unto Moroni, behold, the very powers of hell would have been shaken forever: yea, the devil would never have power over the hearts of the children of men”

WOW whenever me and Soeur Maitere read this we say “Now that’s a real man!!! His wife was so lucky! I want to marry someone like that!”. To all my friends out there, I hope you can all find someone like Moroni to marry someday! That’s what I want for my future! But in order to marry a Moroni you have to be one too! So I’m going to try my best to be that person for my future husband too. Not that I’m planning on getting married anytime soon, but when I do eventually, I wanna do it right! I want a strong marriage and a happy family.

So this is the last week of the transfer and I seriously can’t believe it!!! It went by so so fast. This Friday are transfer calls, I think it’s pretty likely this time that I’ll be getting transferred but we’ll see!

Also fun fact, on Saturday we found another dead cat in the same exact spot as the other one, and I had PTSD thinking about the zombie cat back in December. Luckily proprietaire was not in Hawaii this time and took care of it for us.

na na bisous!

 

TRADUZIONE IN ITALIANO

Bonjour!

Allora non appena sono arrivata qui un membro del rione mi ha detto che somigliavo ad un'attrice italiana, e ora mi dice che assomiglio a una certa attrice che si chiama Claudia Cardinale. Non ho nessuna idea di chi sia ma non mi lamento! Gli ho detto che mi chiamo Claudia e scherzando mi ha detto che mi hanno chiamato apposta come lei. Una volta stavamo insegnando ad una simpatizzante alcune settimane fa e mi ha detto "Mi sembra come di averti già vista in TV"", e la mia collega ha detto"Sì, ho pensato anch'io la stessa cosa la prima volta che ti ho visto! Assomigli a qualcuno in una telenovela". Ok allora, ahahahah.

Altre situazioni comiche:

  • Sudo letteralmente a morte in continuazione ma Sorella Maitere non suda mai e io le dico che fa troppo caldo e lei fa "davvero?" Ma lei è quella che sente freddo quando la temperatura si abbassa di 5 gradi.

  • Per coloro che non lo sanno ho una passione ossessionante per i carlini, specialmente Doug the Pug (Doug il Carlino). Una volta stavamo ad una faatamaaraa e un membro del rione stava su Facebook così gli ho detto di guardare i video di Doug the Pug. C'era un video di Ed Sheeran che teneva Doug e io ho detto "Mamma mia vorrei proprio incontrarlo un giorno!". Il membro del rione mi fa "È vero, incontrare Ed Sheeran sarebbe troppo forte!" e io ho detto "Che c'entra Ed Sheeran, stavo parlando di Doug the Pug!"

La settimana scorsa abbiamo fatto una serata in cui abbiamo mostrato un film che si chiama Courageous (Coraggioso). Era un film davvero bello!!! Parla molto delle famiglie e del ruolo dei padri. Ci sono alcuni padri meravigliosi in quel film, è bellissimo vederlo! Io e Sorella Maitere dicevamo sempre "Quello è davvero un uomo!". Parla anche di integrità e fede, cose che amo. Alla fine quando abbiamo acceso le luci abbiamo visto diverse persone che piangevano! È un film intenso. So che quando le famiglie sono fondate sui principi mostrati in quel film e su questo Vangelo le nostre case saranno felici e piene di amore, a prescindere da quello che accade.

Una cosa che amo che uno dei padri nel film dice a sua figlia è "Devi trovare qualcuno che ami il Signore più di te. Se un uomo ama e rispetta Dio allora amerà e rispetterà te". VERO. Una delle persone preferite da me e Sorella Maitere nel Libro di Mormon è il Capitano Moroni. Amiamo proprio questa sua descrizione in Alma 48:11-13, 17 :

"E Moroni era un uomo forte e potente; era un uomo di perfetto intendimento; sì, un uomo che non prendeva diletto a versare il sangue; un uomo la cui anima gioiva della libertà e dell’indipendenza del suo paese...un uomo il cui cuore era gonfio di gratitudine verso il suo Dio per i molti privilegi e le molte benedizioni che egli aveva riversato sul suo popolo; un uomo che lavorava strenuamente per il bene e la sicurezza del suo popolo. Sì, ed era un uomo fermo nella fede in Cristo, e aveva giurato solennemente di difendere il suo popolo, i suoi diritti, il suo paese, la sua religione persino a costo del suo sangue.

Sì, in verità, in verità io vi dico, se tutti gli uomini fossero stati, fossero ora o saranno mai in futuro simili a Moroni, ecco, i poteri stessi dell’inferno sarebbero stati scossi per sempre; sì, il diavolo non avrebbe mai potere sul cuore dei figlioli degli uomini."

MAMMA MIA, ogni volta che io e Sorella Maitere leggiamo questo diciamo "Questo è un vero uomo!!! Sua moglie era così fortunata! Voglio sposare qualcuno così!" A tutti i miei amici là fuori, spero che possiate trovare qualcuno come Moroni un giorno! Questo è quanto voglio per il mio futuro! Ma per poter sposare un Moroni bisogna diventarne uno! Così cercherò di fare del mio meglio per essere anch'io quella persona per il mio futuro marito. Non che stia programmando di sposarmi al momento ma quando con il tempo lo farò, lo voglio fare bene! Voglio un matrimonio forte e una famiglia felice.

Allora questa è l'ultima settimana del trasferimento e seriamente non ci posso credere!!!! È passato troppo velocemente. Questo venerdì avremo le telefonate dei trasferimenti, penso che sia molto probabile che questa volta venga trasferita ma vedremo!

Un altro fatto divertente, sabato abbiamo trovato un altro gatto morto esattamente nello stesso posto dell'altro e mi è venuto un colpo al pensiero del gatto zombie dello scorso dicembre. Fortunatamente il proprietario non era nelle Hawaii questa volta e ci ha pensato lui per noi.

na na bisous!

bottom of page