top of page

Weekly Email 9: Pa dormir! Stay focus!

People here say Pa dormir and Stay Focus all the time. Not really sure what it means, apparently it’s some kind of meme hahaha also surprise my p-day is Tuesday because me and my comp have too many lessons on Wednesday and we didn’t want to have to cancel them.

Yesterday marked 2 months in the mission for me! I feel like I’ve been gone from home for way longer because so much has happened, but time has also been flying since I got to Tahiti! These past 2 months have been amazing though and so life changing! This truly has been the greatest adventure of my life so far and I’ve been learning so much.

This past week on Huahine:

  • Last week on p-day me and Soeur Miller went with the Elders to a really nice beach, and I saw a baby shark! It came up all the way to the shore. Also here in Huahine they have sacred eels. Their eyes are bright blue and it’s kinda freaky but you can go to the river and pet them

  • Me and Soeur Miller started project #GETFIT which means we go running and do abs every morning. It’s so humid here that after five minutes you’re dripping sweat but oh well what can you do.

  • WE HAVE A BAPTISMAL DATE FOR OUR AMI HENUI WOOOOO! After she gets baptized her family can go get sealed in the temple!! YAY!! Also Sunday was super awesome because 15 of our amis came to church and there were a lot of less actives as well! A lot of our lessons this week got canceled which was sad but the ones we did have went well, everyone is progressing nicely and we should be getting more baptismal dates soon! Also one of the kids we’re teaching looks SO MUCH like my brother and it’s kinda weird

  • We had a ward activity Saturday and the women did traditional Tahitian dances! So cool! A lot of tourists stopped by to watch haha

  • Also there’s a guy in our ward here who makes ukuleles! President Obama bought 2 of his homemade ukeleles! Me and Soeur Miller went there for lunch and we got to play them!

  • MA’A: So for food here we eat a ton of rice and usually meat of some kind. The raw fish here is SO GOOD. I had sashimi (thinly sliced raw fish like tuna or salmon) and poisson cru (marinated raw fish) this week yummm Also lait du coco (coconut milk) is sooo good and I had some fresh mango this week too and it’s all SO GOOD!

  • Yesterday was Soeur Miller’s 21st birthday! Woot woot! It was tons of fun and also she got surprised with 3 different birthday cakes so now my birthday expectations are pretty high ;)

  • One of the Elders’ amis used to work at a hotel so we got breakfast there for free and got to look around! It was super cool!

  • I got pizza from the Italians on Friday! It's super awesome to be able to speak Italian again after so long, although I'm starting to mix my French and Italian together!! oh no ahhh!! Yesterday I said "anniversario" in Italian instead of "compleanno" (birthday), because in French the word for birthday is "anniversaire"!

Wednesday I read some awesome scriptures that I want to share!

"And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

And he (God) said, Certainly I will be with thee" (Exodus 3:11-12)

"And Moses said unto the Lord, O my Lord, I am not eloquent...but I am slow of speech, and of a slow tongue.

And the Lord said unto him, Who hath made man's mouth? or who taketh the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? Have I not I the Lord?

Now therefore go, and I will be with thy mouth, and teach thee what thou shalt say" (Exodus 4:10-12)

"And when Enoch had heard these words, he bowed himself to the Earth before the Lord, and spake before the Lord saying: Why is it that I have found favor in thy sight, and am but a lad, and all the people hate me: for I am slow of speech: wherefore am I thy servant?

And the Lord said unto Enoch: Go forth and do as I have commanded thee, and no man shall pierce thee. Open thy mouth, and it shall be filled, and I will give thee utterance.

Behold my Spirit is upon you, wherefore all thy words will I justify: and the mountains shall flee before you, and the rivers shall turn from their course." (Moses 6:31-32, 34)

"And so great was the faith of Enoch that he led the people of God, and their enemies came to the battle against them; and he spake the word of the Lord, and the earth trembled, and the mountains fled, even according to his command: and the rivers of water were turned out of their course; and the roar of the lions was heard out of the wilderness: and all nations feared greatly, so powerful was the word of Enoch, and so great was the power of language which God has given him" (Moses 7:13)

WOW! I just love those scriptures, they are so powerful. Even great prophets like Enoch and Moses were insecure and doubted their abilities. Both struggled to speak, but God called them anyways. With God's help, they did amazing miracles. These scriptures helped me a lot this week in reminding me that I may struggle right now with the language, but that if I work hard and have faith God will help me. When you combine your efforts with the Lord, there is nothing you can't do. I know God will help us just as he helped these ancient prophets. Joshua 1:5 says "As I was with Moses, so I will be with thee: I will not fail thee, nor forsake thee", We are never alone! I know I am not alone as I do this missionary work! Right now I still have to work hard, I make plenty of mistakes, and sometimes I get frustrated. But that doesn't mean God isn't helping me! Every day, little by little, I learn more and am improving. Even in just 3 weeks in Tahiti I have noticed a difference! My French is far from perfect but each day I get a little better! We CAN move mountain with the Lord's help, even if it's just piece by piece.

The day I read these scriptures I had 5 lessons back to back with my companion. For the first time I was able to contribute a lot to the lessons and say what I wanted to say! It was such a great feeling! Reading these verses helped me so much to have faith and be confident! I DID NOT want to learn a new language on my mission, but then I was called speaking French and Tahitian. I know this was not a mistake. I am grateful for this challenge because it has taught me so much. I have learned to be patient and to not be too hard on myself and to rely on the Lord for help. It is hard but I know I can do it!

I still can't believe I get to live on Tahiti for 18 months and be able to tell people about things I love!! Things that bring JOY!! How lucky am I! I know God loves us and knows us PERSONALLY. He is mindful of us and of everything going on in our lives. I love my Heavenly Father and am so happy to know He is with me, on this little beautiful island miles and miles away from home!

Life is so good! Love you all back home and I think of you all often.

Bisous!

 

TRADUZIONE IN ITALIANO

La gente qui dice Pa dormir e Stay Focus in continuazione. Non sono proprio sicura di cosa significhi, a quanto pare è qualche specie di meme ahahah, inoltre sorpresa, il mio p-day è oggi (martedì) perché io e la mia collega abbiamo troppe lezioni mercoledì e non volevamo cancellarle.

Ieri sono stati esattemente due mesi che sono in missione! Mi sembra come se sia stata lontano da casa molto di più perché sono successe tante cose ma il tempo è anche volato da quando sono a Tahiti! Questi ultimi due mesi sono stati però molto intensi e mi hanno cambiato molto! Questa è stata davvero la più grande avventura della mia vita finora e sto imparando tanto.

La settimana scorsa a Huahine:

  • La settimana scorsa durante il p-day io e Sorella Miller siamo andate con gli Anziani ad una spiaggia molto bella e ho visto uno squaletto! È venuto fino alla riva. Inoltre qui a Huahine hanno le anguille sacre. Hanno gli occhi di un blu brillante ed è un po' spaventoso ma si può andare al fiume e trattarle come se fossero degli animali domestici.

  • Io e Sorella Miller abbiamo iniziato il progetto #GETFIT il che vuol dire che andiamo a correre e facciamo addominali ogni mattina. È così umido qui che dopo cinque minuti cominciamo a gocciolare sudore ma oh, che ci possiamo fare.

  • ABBIAMO UNA DATA BATTESIMALE PER IL NOSTRO AMI HENUI, EVVIVA! Dopo che si battezza la sua famiglia si potrà suggellare al tempio!! YAY! E poi domenica è stata incredibile perché 15 dei nostri investigatori sono venuti in chiesa e c'erano anche molti dei nostri membri meno attivi! Molte delle nostre lezioni questa settimana sono state cancellate, il che è triste ma quelle che abbiamo fatto sono andate molto bene, ognuno sta progredendo bene e dovremmo avere più date battesimali presto! E poi uno dei bambini a cui insegnamo assomiglia MOLTISSIMO a mio fratello il che è alquanto strano.

  • Abbiamo avuto un'attività di rione sabato e le donne hanno fatto la danza tradizionale taitiana! Che forte! Un sacco di turisti si sono fermati a guardare ahah

  • E c'è un uomo nel nel nostro rione qui che fa gli ukelele! Il Pr. Obama ha comprato due dei suoi ukelele fatti a mano! Io e Sorella Miller siamo andate da lui a pranzo e abbiamo potuto suonarli!

  • MA'A: Come cibo qui mangiamo tonnellate di riso e solitamente carne di qualche tipo. Il pesce crudo qui è COSÍ BUONO. Ho mangiato i sashimi (sottili fette di pesce crudo come il salmone o il tonno) e il poisson cru (pesce crudo marinato) questa settimana, buoni! Anche il latte di cocco è buonissimo e ho mangiato anche un mango fresco questa settimana e tutto è COSÍ BUONO!

  • Ieri è stato il ventunesimo compleanno di Sorella Miller! Urrà! È stato divertentissimo e le hanno fatto anche a sopresa ben 3 diverse torte così ora le mie aspettative per il mio compleanno sono molto alte ;)

  • One dei simpatizzanti degli Anziani lavorava in un albergo così abbiamo potuto fare colazione gratis lì e abbiamo anche potuto visitarlo! Era fortissimo!

  • Ho comprato una pizza dagli italiani venerdì! È troppo forte poter parlare di nuovo italiano dopo tanto tempo anche se sto cominciando a mischiare il francese e l'italiano!! Oh no ahhh!! Ieri ho detto "anniversario" in italiano invece di "compleanno" perché in francese compleanno si dice "anniversaire"!

Mercoledì ho letto delle scritture fantastiche che voglio condividere!

Mosè disse a Dio: «Chi sono io per andare dal faraone e per far uscire dall'Egitto gli Israeliti?»

Rispose: «Io sarò con te». (Esodo 3:11-12)

Mosè disse al Signore: «Mio Signore, io non sono un buon parlatore,... ma sono impacciato di bocca e di lingua».

Il Signore gli disse: «Chi ha dato una bocca all'uomo o chi lo rende muto o sordo, veggente o cieco? Non sono forse io, il Signore?

Ora và! Io sarò con la tua bocca e ti insegnerò quello che dovrai dire». (Esodo 4:10-12)

E quando Enoc ebbe udito queste parole, si prostrò a terra dinanzi al Signore, e parlò dinanzi al Signore, dicendo: Come è che io ho trovato favore ai tuoi occhi, e non sono che un ragazzo e tutte le persone mi odiano, perché sono lento nel parlare; perché dunque sono tuo servitore?

E Il Signore disse ad Enoc: Va’, e fa come ti ho comandato, e nessuno ti trafiggerà. Apri la bocca ed essa sarà riempita, e ti darò di esprimerti.

Ecco, il mio spirito è su di te, pertanto giustificherò tutte le tue parole; e le montagne fuggiranno dinanzi a te, e i fiumi devieranno dal loro corso. (Mosè 6:31-32, 34)

E così grande era la sua fede, che egli guidò il popolo di Dio; e i loro nemici vennero a combattere contro di loro; ed egli pronunciò la parola del Signore, e la terra tremò e le montagne fuggirono, sì, secondo il suo comando; e i fiumid’acqua furono stornati dal loro corso; e il ruggito dei leoni fu udito dal deserto, e tutte le nazioni temettero grandemente, tanto era possente la parola di Enoc e tanto grande era il potere del linguaggio che Dio gli aveva dato. (Mosè 7:13)

Wow! Amo tanto queste scritture, sono così potenti. Anche grandi profeti come Enoch e Mosè erano insicuri e dubitavano delle loro capacità. Entrambi avevano difficoltà a parlare, ma Dio li ha chiamati lo stesso. Con l'aiuto di Dio hanno compiuto grandi miracoli. Queste scritture mi hanno aiutato molto questa settimana a ricordarmi che anche se al momento posso avere delle difficoltà con la lingua se lavoro sodo e ho fede Dio mi aiuterà. Quando si combinano i propri sforzi con il Signore non c'è nulla che non si possa fare. So che Dio ci aiuterà proprio come ha aiutato questi profeti antichi. Giosuè 1:5 dice "Come sono stato con Mosè, così sarò con te; io non ti lascerò e non ti abbandonerò", non siamo mai soli! Io so che non sono sola mentre faccio questo lavoro missionario! Al momento devo ancora lavorare duro, faccio tanti errori e a volte mi sento frustrata. Ma quello non vuol dire che Dio non mi aiuterà! Ogni giorno, a poco a poco, imparo di più e progredisco. Persino in 3 settimane a Tahiti ho notato la differenza! Il mio francese è lontano dall'essere perfetto ma ogni giorno miglioro un poco! Noi POSSIAMO muovere le montagne con l'aiuto del Signore anche se è solo un pezzetto alla volta.

Il giorno in cui ho letto queste scritture dovevo insegnare 5 lezioni di fila con la mia collega. Per la prima volta ho potuto contribuire molto alle lezioni e a dire quello che volevo dire! È stata una tale sensazione! Leggere questi versetti mi ha aiutato tanto ad avere fede e ad essere ottimista! IO NON VOLEVO imparare una nuova lingua in missione ma poi sono stata chiamata a parlare francese e taitiano. So che questo non è stato un errore. Sono grata per questa sfida perché mi ha insegnato così tanto. È difficile ma so che posso farcela!

Ancora non ci credo che posso vivere a Tahiti per 18 mesi e di poter parlare alla gente di ciò che amo!! Le cose che danno GIOIA!! Quanto sono fortunata! So che Dio ci ama e ci conosce PERSONALMENTE. Si ricorda di noi e di tutto ciò che accade nella nostra vita. Amo il mio Padre Celeste e sono così felice di sapere che LUI è con me, su questa bella isoletta miglia e miglia lontano da casa!

La vita va così bene! Amo tutti voi lì a casa e penso a tutti spesso.

Bisous! (Baci!)

bottom of page